A father’s day tribute. The good enough father.

(A short story).
“I know I let you down. ” said Seyi as he looked intensely into his sons eyes. “We tried your mother and I to keep our relationship cemented together, but there were so many cracks and resentment was building up fast that one day after an emotionally racked conversation we decided to part ways. “

“We both loved you so much but we knew that we had to part ways to save you” .

After a long silence “dad”, said son, “when you left my heart was fractured into a million pieces of shattered glass”. “I watched from my bedroom window as you left” “For years I hated you, my self esteem was at its lowest” . “I hated mum with a passion too, because I couldn’t understand that the cycle of your love had come to an end” .

Seyi wiped two tears away. “I am sorry son”. “Please don’t cry dad” “I know you have carried the burden of shame and guilt for many years because you had to leave” .But I wanted to tell you how much I love you today and that I understand that you made the right decision for me”. “Now that I am a man I understand dad”.

“Dad your love for me has been my rock through the years” . “I am aware of all of the sacrifices, you made for me” . “Whenever you place your hand on my shoulder and say nothing I know you love me dad” .

“Son responded Seyi, you will never know how much I love you”. “But I do said son as he warmly embraced his father, holding him so tight that he could feel the frailnesss of his bones” . “You never forgot a birthday, you dropped me off at university for the first time, you sent me money even when you had nothing, you took me to visit Nigeria to see Grandad for the first time when I was 16” .

“That was a turning point for me dad”, that visit changed my life”. “I knew that you loved me so deeply and I learnt that by how you interacted with grandad”. “I could see how much grandad loved you too”.

“I am who I am today dad, because of you” , “Happy fathers day dad”, said son, as he planted a kiss on his father’s forehead. “You are the centre of my joy”.

“Happy fathers day to the good enough father”.

Published by The Storyteller

Teacher, therapist, writer, humanitarian and activist. Writing is my passion. There are a number of things I hold close to my heart social injustice equality, fairness, and nature. My stories are fiction but there is often a therapeutic spin to the tales. Most especially tales from the therapist's chair. I hope you enjoy my work.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started