The mistress 2.

I review the notes of my previous sessions. Lara Adesuwa Johnson what a beautiful name I think to myself. Needless to say that Lara appeared to be an elegant but broken woman. She cried throughout the session,

Her experience of loss filled the counselling space. The loss of her unborn baby and the loss of her lover. When she cried there was so much sadness. I was hoping my work with Lara would be lighter than the work with Shola. I had, had to take a considerable amount of time off work to heal myself from the battering I received from both Shola and Afolarin. I am ready now, to continue to work with clients and help them to explore the issues they bring into the room.

I hear a light tap on the door it’s Lara she is early. She takes a seat in the chair. “He was very influencial” she tells me as soon as she takes her seat in the chair. “He brought me a house in an exclusive part of London”.”Her lips twist bitterly I thought he brought it in my name but he didn’t it was in his wife’s name” “I found that out a few years ago”, that became a hot bed of our tension”. “That was the first time I put my foot down”. “I felt deeply humilated”. “He eventually relented and agreed to buy me a flat in the Docklands area”. “Deep down I felt not good enough”. “Can you compare The Docklands to Knightsbridge”. She looks at me. Her stare is cool.

“It feel like your relationship was very transactional Lara”. I reply as I begin to process her story.

“How many years where you in this relationship for”. “I can’t bring myself to tell you that Fola yet”. “But he is effectively all that I have ever really known”.

“Sometimes”, she pauses as she finishes the word “Sometimes I am filled with rage.” I have this beautiful closet, I have the most beautiful jewellery”, “On my 40th birthday and that was Twenty years ago, he brought me a string of exquisite pearls” “I thought he was going to make an honest woman out of me” “I contemplated for many years becoming a second wife”. “It’s quite acceptable she said shyly and my mother was convinced that this was the way forward”. “He didn’t even find me worthy to become a second wife”.

I sit up straight in my chair at the mention of her mother. She notices this instantly and responds “Yes my mother encouraged the relationship between Tunji and I to continue”.

A slight frown appears on the base of my forehead. She benefitted from the relationship too and as a result of it my father divorced her”. “Tunji built my mother a house”. ” A beautiful home in her hometown”. “She said I should be patient and I was”. “I am 62 and all I have to show is a flat, beautiful clothes and expensive jewellery”. “He didn’t permit me to work”. “He wanted me to be at his beck and call and I was”.

She bows her head in her chair and starts to cry again. The tears are deep and throaty filled with the regret of a thousand years.

Do you feel that your mother colluded with your lover I ask trying to gain a clearer picture of what I have just heard. Lara doesn’t respond. She brings out a handkerchief and dabs her tears elegantly. She places it back in her expensive handbag. She is composed now. She brings out her mirror and fixes her make up. “I guess my time is up now Fola she says as she rises to leave” .

I look up at the clock. My heart feels heavy for my client.

“Good night Lara I say sadly” . See you next week. She heads towards the door crying silently as she leaves. “Lara I say gently it often gets worse before it gets better” . She smiles gently as she closes the door firmly behind her.

Published by The Storyteller

Teacher, therapist, writer, humanitarian and activist. Writing is my passion. There are a number of things I hold close to my heart social injustice equality, fairness, and nature. My stories are fiction but there is often a therapeutic spin to the tales. Most especially tales from the therapist's chair. I hope you enjoy my work.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started